Tuesday, March 26, 2019

European Summer time - Your Clocks Go Forward on 31st March 2019

We "Spring forward" Sunday 31st March 2019.

Get ready to lose that extra hour of sleep because daylight saving time begins this weekend.

On Sunday, March 31, 2019 marks the start of
European Summer Time 


This event occurred in the USA several weeks ago.

This is the variation of standard clock time that is applied in most European countries, not including Iceland, Belarus, Turkey and Russia — in the period between spring and autumn, during which clocks are advanced by one hour from the time observed in the rest of the year, in order to make the most efficient use of seasonal daylight. It corresponds to the notion and practice of "daylight saving time" to be found in many other parts of the world.

European Summer Time is observed across three time zones, beginning at 01:00 UTC/WET (02:00 CET, 03:00 EET) on the last Sunday in March and ending at 01:00 UTC (02:00 WEST, 03:00 CEST, 04:00 EEST) on the last Sunday in October each year. This means that Summer Time lasts, depending upon the calendar year, for either 30 or 31 weeks of the year.

Summer Time was first introduced during the First World War. However, most countries discontinued the practice after the war. It was then restarted in various countries during the Second World War and its immediate aftermath. Again it was widely cancelled by the 1950s, although re-introduced in isolated cases until the late 1960s when the energy crisis began to prompt policy makers to re-introduce the policy across the continent. It has remained in place in most European countries since that time.

Historically the countries of Europe had different practices for observing Summer Time, but this hindered coordination of transport, communications and movements. Starting in 1981 the European Community began issuing directives requiring member states to legislate particular start and end dates for Summer Time.

Since 1981 each directive has specified a transition time of 01:00 UTC and a start date of the last Sunday in March, but the end dates have differed. Successive Directives laid down two dates for the end: one on the last Sunday in September applied by the continental Member States, and the other on the fourth Sunday in October for the United Kingdom and Ireland. In 1996 the end date was changed to the fourth Sunday in October for all countries. In 1998 the end date was adjusted to be the last Sunday in October; this happened to be the same as the previous rule for 1996 and 1997. The ninth directive, currently in force, has made this permanent.

Look on the bright side - this means spring is here and the sun is coming back out from its winter retreat.

3 comments:

Enthusiasm Quotes said...

Very Nice And Interesting Post, thank you for sharing
Famous Positive Quotes
Excellence Quotes - Wiki Dragons
Success Quotes - Good Images
Future Quotes - Anuj Somany
اقوال وحكم - حكمة رائعة
اقوال وحكم جميلة

Nancy May said...

Hey everyone!
Today I come to you with so much excitement!
My Ex and I broke up 1 year and 2 months ago and i was six months pregnant. We both love each other and it was a shock to me and it really broke my heart. I tried to call him and both of his lines were disconnected. I tried to reach him on social networks but he deleted me off of them. I tried to reach his parents and they told me that their son said that he does not love me and does not want to see me and they do not know what is wrong. I cried and cried everyday because I loved him very much. Until I gave birth and the baby was one year old, I could not get my love back. Again, I was confused. I do not know what to do and I also lost my job and I have no money to take care of the baby. I was miserable in life so I cried to my sister and told her my problem and said that she knew of one powerful spell caster that helped her when she could not get pregnant. I contacted him by email and he said he will help me and told me that a woman cast a spell upon my man and said he will help me break the spell so my man will come back to me and be mine forever. It was a great surprise to me that everything that he said came to pass. My man came back to me immediately, saying that I should forgive him. I am sending a very big thank you to this powerful and real spell caster. I pray for him to live long and do more of his wonderful work. If you have any kind of problem disturbing you in life, you have to contact this powerful spell caster! He can help you. He will not disappoint you, I give you 100% guarantee that he will help you,
Here’s his contact Email: Ahmedutimate@gmail.com
Call or Whats-app him: +2348160153829

Enthusiasm Quotes said...

Very Nice And Interesting Post, thank you for sharing
Famous Positive Quotes
Excellence Quotes - Wiki Dragons
Success Quotes - Good Images
Future Quotes - Anuj Somany
اقوال وحكم - حكمة رائعة
اقوال وحكم جميلة